~Book Blurb Contest~

Like contests? How about $100 Amazon gift cards?

I knew you did…

Many of you are familiar with my mystery/thriller novel, “In Memory of Greed,” and some have already been kind enough to give it a read. I wrote the book blurb for it that appears on Amazon, B & N, and Goodreads. This description, or”teaser,” is the primary reason a potential reader makes the decision to buy the book…or not.

I think my blurb is OK…I want it to be fantabulous. That is where you come in, Dear Reader. So here is how this little contest of mine is going to work:

A) Participants must have a verified purchase of “In Memory of Greed” on Amazon, or Barnes and Noble.

B) You’ll want to read the book then post a review on Amazon, B & N, and Goodreads. (anyone who has already purchased/posted a review is qualified)

C) Once you’ve read/reviewed “In Memory of Greed,” give me your best shot at writing a killer book blurb for me. The existing blurb will be put out to pasture, and the winning entry will take its place. 

D) Deadline for submittal is June 1, 2011. The writer of the winning entry will receive a shiny Amazon $100 gift card. Keep in mind, this is a mystery thriller, so a prize winning blurb must explain enough about the book to entice the reader, without giving too much away. Please do not post your entry on the blog. When your entry is ready for submission, hit me on Twitter (@threecifer) and I’ll DM you my email address.

I’m very excited to see what all of my talented friends come up with. Good luck. I’m quite certain I’ll be blown away with your fabulous entries.

This entry was posted in #SampleSunday. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ~Book Blurb Contest~

  1. Pingback: ~Book Blurb Contest~ (via alboudreau) « Supplementary Material

  2. Ann Mauren says:

    What a clever way to access the ‘hive mind’!

    Writing the jacket is sometimes the hardest part. Way to delegate, Al!

    • Al Boudreau says:

      Hi Ann…thanks for the kind words. I’m very excited about having a shiny, new blurb for “In Memory of Greed. And this $100 Amazon gift card is burning a hole in my pocket. I can’t wait to send it off to the person with the best entry.

  3. Pingback: ~Book Blurb Contest~ (via alboudreau) « Pale Horse: A Novel

  4. JB Toner says:

    Brilliant idea, Al, and a great way to boooost sales. Where did I leave my Kindle?

    btw, I live in Ireland. I’d love to know where you found spectacular sights. No, don’t tell me. Let me read the book, first.

    • Al Boudreau says:

      JB…thanks for stopping by, and for your kind words. I fell in love with your gorgeous homeland, and can’t wait to return. Enjoy the read, my friend. Thank you for your support.

  5. Pingback: Milestones along the Writer’s Road | alboudreau

  6. Al, great idea. I am going to give it a shot. I may not make the deadline, but the worst that can happen is a get a good read and get some good ideas for my upcoming thriller novel. I am looking forward to reading it!

    • Al Boudreau says:

      Fantastic…I’m really looking forward to reading what you come up with, my friend. I’m also looking forward to hearing all about your latest WIP. Cheers, and good luck.

Leave a Reply

